The purchase of a house is one of life’s biggest investments. For many buyers, this process can turn out more expensive than it should because many of them will dive in, head first, and fall into traps such as:

  • Paying too much for the property they want;
  • Losing their dream property to the hands of another buyer;
  • And, worse, buying a house that does not correspond to their needs.

A systematic buying approach will help you avoid these frequent traps, save you money and purchase the house that really suits you.

Here are the 9 most common and costly traps, how to recognize and solve them.

1. Buying blindly

What price should you offer when filling a Promise to Purchase?

Is the asking price fair, too high or under market value? What kind or negotiation margin should you expect? If you haven’t done any research on the market to assess the value of similar comparable properties, you will make an offer blindly.

Without this market knowledge, you could easily offer too much or miss an opportunity to make a competitive offer on well-priced a house.

2. Buying the wrong house

More than one buyer, dazzled and excited by a property, rushed to buy it… only to realize a few weeks or months later that he or she is the owner of  a home too big, too small, too far from work or which requires more maintenance that one has time or means to address.

It is essential to clearly define your needs and wants in order of priority. Remember these criteria during viewings and when comes time to make a decision.

3. Legal Problems

Is the property which meets all your criteria being offered for sale by the rightful owners? Do the debts on the property exceed its value or the price you are willing to pay for it? Are the property titles (this property’s history of sales) clear?

The last thing you want to discover is that the property is not free of liens or priorities, that there are other owners not involved or perhaps that leases were already granted.

Make sure to have professionals at your side who will be able to fulfill those verifications.

4. Non-compliant designation

Is your certificate of location, also known as survey and prepared by a land surveyor, up to date or was the property modified by the extension of a deck, the installation of a pool or a heat-pump? Are there non-conformities which you will be required to rectify once you buy? Are there privileges or servitudes (easements) which could limit the use you intend to make of the property or which could engage obligations towards a third party?

If this document is not the exact reproduction of the actual reality or that it includes anomalies, it will not be accepted by the lender or the Notary. Will you know how to recognize these hick-ups?

5. Repairs not mentioned

Don’t expect the seller to give you a comprehensive list of everything that needs to be verified or repaired. Both of you are looking to maximize your respective investments.

Make sure your Promise to Purchase is conditional upon a building inspection. Consider hiring an independent inspector who will objectively examine the property and produce a full inspection report. It should detail all the property’s elements and repairs to be anticipated. Sometimes, you may also need to consult experts in different fields.

Bear in mind that there doesn’t exist a property which will not require maintenance ($) or regular renovations ($$).  That is part and parcel of being an owner.

6. Not being pre-qualified

A ‘guaranteed’ pre-qualified mortgage is fast and easy to get. And it’s free. When you’re pre-approved for a mortgage, you take the stress away while you shop and you feel more secure knowing that you will be ready to move when you unearth the desired property and that your Promise to Purchase will be considered more seriously than without your pre-qualification.

Knowing what you can afford and how much a lender will offer helps you better target your search and potentially avoid falling in love with a property which is out of your reach… and impossible to forget!

7. Contract breaches

If a seller does not comply strictly to the contract by neglecting to do repairs he/she promised to do, or by changing the nature of the contract in any way, this can lead to the postponement of the closing as well as all the inconveniences and costs caused thereby.

Agree upfront on a compensation if, for example, the repairs are not completed as expected. Prepare a list of items both parties agreed on and follow up closely on each of the items.

8. Hidden Costs

Make sure you identified and found all the costs resulting from a sale – small or big – as early in the process as you can. When a transaction is concluded, sometimes unexpected fees suddenly “appear” after the total amount has been established: discharges, contributions, etc.

9. Rush the closing

At this step in the process, it is crucial you take your time and review the documentation a few days before the closing. Make sure the documents reflect your understanding of the transaction perfectly, that nothing was added or removed. Is the interest rate exact? Has everything been covered? If you rush through it on closing day, you might find yourself tied up at the last minute with no solution at hand, and end up compromising the terms of the agreement, the financing or the transaction itself.

111 queries in 1.072 seconds.
About this site
Tools

L’achat d’une propriété est un des plus importants investissements d’une vie. Pour plusieurs acheteurs, ce processus pourrait s’avérer plus coûteux que nécessaire car trop nombreux sont ceux qui foncent tête baissée dans des pièges tels que:

  • payer trop cher la propriété convoîtée;
  • perdre la maison rêvée aux mains d’un autre acheteur;
  • et, pis encore, acheter la maison qui ne correspond pas à leurs besoins.

Une approche systématique d’achat de propriété vous aidera à éviter ces pièges courants, à couper vos frais et à acquérir la maison qui vous convient vraiment.

Voici les 9 pièges les plus courants et coûteux, comment les identifier et quoi faire pour les éviter.

1. Acheter à l’aveuglette

Quel prix devriez vous offrir lorsque vous rédigez une promesse d’achat sur la propriété dénichée?

Le prix demandé par le vendeur est-il en juste, sous-évalué ou trop élevé? Pouvez-vous anticiper une marge de négociation  ou non? Si vous n’avez pas fait de recherches sur le marché pour comprendre les valeurs comparables actuelles, vous ferez votre offre en pariant à l’aveuglette.

Sans cette connaissance du marché, vous pourriez aisément offrir trop ou rater la possibilité de faire une offre compétitive sur une maison qui vaut son pesant d’or.

2. Acheter la mauvaise maison

Plus d’un acheteur, ébloui par la beauté d’une propriété, s’est emballé dans l’émotion et s’est précipité d’acheter… seulement pour réaliser quelques semaines ou quelques mois plus tard qu’ils sont propriétaires d’une habitation trop grande ou trop petite, trop loin du travail ou qui requiert plus d’entretien qu’il n’a de temps ou de fonds pour réaliser.

Il est essentiel de clairement définir vos besoins et vos désirs en ordre de priorité. Rappelez-vous ces critères lors de vos visites et lorsque vous avez une décision à prendre.

3. Problèmes légaux

La propriété qui répond à tous vos critères est-elle offerte en vente par les propriétaires légitimes?  Les créances qui existent sur celle-ci excèdent-ils la valeur de l’immeuble ou le prix que vous comptez payer? Les titres de propriétés (historique des ventes de cet immeuble) sont-ils clairs?

La dernière chose que vous désirez découvrir, c’est que la propriété n’est pas libre de lien hypothécaire ou de toute priorité, ou qu’il existe d’autres propriétaires, ou encore que des baux ont déjà été consentis.

Assurez-vous d’avoir des professionnels à vos côtés qui sauront faire ces vérifications.

4. Désignation non-conforme

Le certificat de localisation (produit par un arpenteur-géomètre) est-il à jour ou l’immeuble a-t’il été modifié par l’agrandissement d’un balcon, l’installation d’une piscine ou d’une thermopompe? Y a-t’il des non-conformités dont les rectifications pourraient vous être imposées? Existe-t’il des privilèges ou des servitudes qui pourraient limiter l’usage que vous comptez en faire ou qui pourraient engager vos obligations envers un tiers?

Si ce relevé n’est pas l’exact reproduction de la réalité actuelle ou qu’il inclut des anomalies, ce certificat ne sera pas accepté ni par le notaire ni par le prêteur. Saurez vous détecter et éviter ces hocquets?.

5. Réparations non divulguées

N’espérez pas d’un vendeur qu’ils vous fasse une liste exhaustive de toute ce qui doit être réparé ou vérifié.  Aussi bien vous que le vendeur êtes là pour maximiser votre investissement.

Assurez-vous que votre promesse d’achat soit conditionnelle à une inspection en bâtiment. Pensez à retenir les services  d’un inspecteur indépendant qui examinera objectivement la propriété et qui rédigera un rapport d’inspection complet. Celui-ci inclura en détail tous les éléments de la propriété et les réparations à anticiper. Parfois, vous pourriez devoir consulter des experts en diverses spécialités.

Rappelez-vous qu’il n’existe aucune propriété qui n’aura pas besoin d’entretien régulier ($) et de rénovations ($$) ponctuelles. C’est ça être proprio !

6. Ne pas être pré-qualifiés

Une pré-qualification hypothécaire ‘garantie’ est rapide et facile à obtenir. Et gratuite. Quand vous avez cette hypothèque déjà consentie, vous magasinez sans stress et en toute sécurité, sachant que vous serez prêt à agir quand vous dénicherez la propriété désirée et que votre promesse d’achat sera considérée plus sérieusement que si vous n’étiez pas pré-qualifié.

Connaître votre pouvoir d’achat et ce qu’un prêteur vous consentira vous permettra de mieux cibler votre recherche et vous évitera la déception de tomber en amour avec une propriété hors budget… et impossible à reproduire.

7. Manquements au contrat

Si un vendeur ne se conforme pas au contrat à la lettre en négligeant de faire les réparations qu’il a promis de faire, ou en changeant l’esprit du contrat d’une manière ou d’une autre, cela peut entraîner le report de la clôture de la transaction et tous les désagréments et frais qui découleront de ce report.

Entendez-vous à l’avance sur une somme à titre de dédommagement si, par exemple, les réparations ne sont pas faites comme prévues. Faites la liste des points sur lesquels vous vous êtes entendus et faites un suivi minutieux du déroulement de chacune des étapes.

8. Coûts cachés

Assurez-vous d’avoir identifié et découvert tous les frais reliés à la vente – petits ou grands – suffisamment longtemps d’avance. Quand une transaction se conclut, on voit parfois «apparaître» des frais inattendus après que la somme totale eût été établie : quittances, cotisations, etc.

9. Précipiter la clôture de la transaction

Prenez votre temps lors de cette étape cruciale et insistez pour réviser les documents quelques jours avant la clôture. Assurez-vous que les documents reflètent parfaitement votre compréhension de la transaction, que rien n’a été ajouté ou retranché. Le taux d’intérêt est-il exact? Tout a-t-il été couvert? Si vous précipitez les choses le jour de la clôture, vous risquez de vous trouver dans une impasse à la dernière minute, sans solution en main, et de compromettre les termes de l’entente, le financement ou la vente elle-même.

111 queries in 1,104 seconds.
À propos de ce site
Outils